And so it begins.

(ahem)

many
many
many
month later, I’m back.

It has been a long process to get this project off the ground, but I’m proud to say that it has officially started and I’m very excited about shooting the team. I met with the chancellor of the school about a month ago to get the final OK. Now with all the red tape cleared, five months later, I’m ready to shoot.

Most of my ideas for the first few episodes involved me getting footage of the players arriving to Henderson. Unfortunately we didn’t have the OK from the school yet, and at the time I was working hard editing and shooting another project for Sunbelt Digital Media. Now that some of those video clips are in the can, I want to spend time laying the foundation of the Findlay College Prep program.

I’ve mainly been communicating with Coach Simon. After playing tag via text, email and phone, I finally hooked up with the team for the first time today right after their morning workout. I didn’t get a chance to introduce myself to the team, but I think that will all come later. Coach Peck invited me to come shoot the players lifting weights tomorrow afternoon, so maybe we’ll get some good b-roll footage then.

I have a lot of footage to shoot between now and the end of October. Hopefully I’ll have enough to get two webisodes done and ready to put online. Since we just hired another photographer, it will be easier for me to spend time on other projects. I’m hoping to use this blog in a variety of ways.

01. Any scenes that don’t make the full episodes I’ll try to post here.
02. Pictures that I don’t use in the video I’ll try to post here.
03. Ideas for future questions for the players and coaches.
04. I tend to edit multiple versions of trailers, commercials, etc. I’ll try to post all of them here.

Basically, this blog will be the EXTRA MATERIAL of the DVD.

It’s funny, I have all these ideas in my head about how everything is going to look and sound. Especially sound. I have a lot of ideas that involve music. Mainly hip-hop instrumentals based around Jay Dee, 9th Wonder and Madlib beat tapes. I mean, this isn’t going to just be a highlight video. I really want to get to know these players on and off the court (damn, that sounded so cliche’). But it’s true.

We’ll see what happens.

I’m going to see if Gene can get a graphic designer to make a logo for the series.
Then i’m thinking about getting my brother Eric to animate it in After Effects.

Oh, the title we came up with?

THE SEASON.

(eh…it’ll grow on me).

~ by dseals on September 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
