B-Roll

I need b-roll footage. What’s that?

B-roll or B roll is supplemental or alternate footage intercut with the main shot in an interview or documentary.”

Here’s my list so far:

  • Shots of Henderson International
  • Guys walking to practice from the house
  • Detailed shots of the Henderson School sign
  • Las Vegas Strip
  • Shots of The Strip from Henderson
  • Shots of the house
  • Basketball shoes
  • Empty gym

That’s what I have so far. I got a lot of ideas after I conducted the interviews. Hearing the players talk about specific things really helped. Now that I have their audio, I can overlap their interviews with shots of things that have gone on in practice.

Wait, I just had an idea. I think I might want to grab shots of basketball courts here in the Vegas area. A few guys mentioned certain courts back home where they liked to play. While I can’t get to Peoria or South Central, footage of people playing outside could be just as good.

I don’t need to get everything on that list to finish the first episode, but I need some of it. Right now, the only footage I have is practice and interviews. I need to supplement the video with some interesting cutaways. I’ll ask Jesse later on if he has any ideas.

~ by dseals on October 31, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
