Episode #11 “Water & Towels”

Tim Adkins. You’ve probably seen his name in the credits at the end of each episode, but I want to take some time to talk about why he’s listed there. Back in September, Tim heard that I didn’t have any mics to shoot with for the new season. A week later Tim sent me his Sennheiser Wireless Mic kit. Like, he just sent it as in, “Here you go.” Let me put in perspective how crucial that gesture was. Every one-on-one interview I’ve had with a player and coach can be attributed to Tim’s mics. Trust me, it makes a world of difference. But it doesn’t stop there. I call Tim a lot to bounce ideas for episodes and questions. He’s one of those people that starts out asking “Well Donnie have you thought about this angle?” And then after that, he spews out like 15 amazing questions and concepts (It’s my goal to have Tim to guest produce an episode of The Season sort of like Steve Buscemi did for The Sopranos. This guy is crucial!). Anyway, one of his concepts is THIS episode, “Water & Towels“.

He just flat out asked me, “Have you thought of doing an episode on the ball boy?” Like, I was almost embarrassed that I hadn’t thought of it before.  So much props to Tim Adkins for the idea, the inspiration and the mics (which I will be mailing back to you as soon as The Season is over).

Also much props to Matt Solky for allowing me to put a wireless mic on him during the game. Matt has been very helpful with The Season going all the way back to last year. Just like some of the players, Matt will be displaced with the closing of Henderson International. So I wish him the best in his high school future wherever he lands.

~ by dseals on April 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
